What is ROAS?
ROAS stands for Return on Ad Spend. It is a metric used to determine the revenue earned for every rupee spent on advertising. Example: If you invest ₹1,000 in a performance marketing campaign and generate ₹10,000 in revenue, your ROAS is 10:1 or 1000%. However, real-world scenarios are more complex. Several variables—both direct and indirect—impact the final ROAS figure. That’s why working with experienced marketers who understand these factors is essential.Types of Costs That Affect ROAS
Direct Ad Spend Includes:
- Platform fees or subscription charges
- Service charges of the performance marketing agency
Indirect Costs Include:
- Campaign creation time and resources
- Affiliate or influencer commissions
- Tools used to track ROAS and campaign analytics
Benefits of ROAS
There are several key benefits of calculating ROAS for your brand’s performance marketing campaign. Such include:- Identifying the most relevant and beneficial performance marketing channels/tools. Performance Marketers make use of a mix of marketing tools to elevate your brand reach and its performance. Hence, it helps you select the best possible channels that can deliver better results.
- Calculating timely ROAS can help you optimize your ad spending. Based on the ROAS, you can easily check for relevant platforms and can optimize your budget accordingly.
- Calculating real-time ROAS for campaigns helps to better align your business objectives with your marketing goals. For instance; if your campaigns are performing well, and you have a business objective to expand on control brand reach, you can make changes in your ad-spends accordingly.
- Having a constant focus on ROAS can help to check for the shifting trends in your ROAS. Such can either be a sudden increase or decrease in your ad returns. Further, it helps performance marketers to understand and reflect on market trends. Also, to plan for future marketing strategies accordingly.
- Beneficial for both the performance marketers and clients. It acts out to be a statistical approach that justifies the effort and results. Also, to make real-time changes in the implemented performance marketing strategy.







